CONCEALED CARRY PERMIT QUALIFICATIONS
The fee for the
application is currently $100.00 and is payable at the time of application;
payable by check to "County Sheriff's Revolving Fund" or exact change. The
fee is non-refundable by law.
process may take up to 45 days to complete in accordance with the statute.
The Sheriff will issue permits upon full completion of the statutory
requirements for fingerprinting and background checks.
Applications will be accepted during the following times:
9:00 am. to 12:00 PM and 1:00 PM to 4:00 pm., Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday (except legal holidays)
WE WILL NOT START A NEW APPLICATION AFTER 3:45 P.M.
9:00 am. to 12:00 PM and 1:00 PM to 6:00 pm., Wednesday (except legal holidays)
WE WILL NOT START A NEW APPLICATION AFTER 5:45 P.M.
Applications will be accepted at the Main Sheriff’s Office in Hillsboro only.
How do I renew my current Concealed Carry Permit?
Should you have any questions, please contact our Concealed Carry Division at (636)797-5519, or by e-mail, SRiggs@jeffcomo.org.
Qualifications for obtaining a concealed
To qualify for the certificate needed to acquire a concealed carry endorsement, individuals must:
Be at least 19 years of age, or at least eighteen years of age or older and a member of the U.S. Armed FOrces or honorably discharged from the U. S. Armed Forces.
Be a citizen or permanent resident of the United States
Currently a resident of the state of Missouri; a member of the armed forces of the U.S. stationed in the state of Missouri; or a spouse of a member of the armed forces of the U.S. stationed in Missouri;
Not have been found guilty of a felony;
Not have been convicted of, pled guilty to, or entered a pleas of nolo contendere to one or more misdemeanor offenses involving crimes of violence within a five year period immediately preceding application for a permit and have not been convicted of two or more misdemeanors offenses involving driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs or the possession or abuse of a controlled substance within a five year period immediately preceding application for a permit;
Not be a fugitive from justice;
Not be currently charged with a felony;
Not be dishonorably discharged from the armed forces;
Not have engaged in a pattern of behavior, documented in public records, that causes the sheriff to have a reasonable belief that the applicant presents a danger to himself, herself, or others;
Not have been adjudged mentally incompetent or released from a mental health facility for five years prior to the application;
Not be the respondent in a valid full order of protection currently in effect;
Clear a criminal background check by the state and the Federal Bureau of Investigation; and
Comply with training requirements established by the bill.
Applicants for a concealed carry endorsement must
complete a firearms safety course provided by a qualified instructor.
firearms safety instructor shall be considered to be a qualified firearms safety
instructor by any sheriff issuing a certificate of qualification for a concealed
carry endorsement pursuant to this section if the instructor:
Ø Is a valid firearms safety instructor certified by the National Rifle Association holding a rating as a personal protection instructor or pistol marksmanship instructor; or Submits a photocopy of a certificate from a firearms safety instructor's course offered by a local, state, or federal governmental agency; or
Ø Submits a photocopy of a certificate from a firearms safety instructor course approved by the department of public safety; or
Ø Has successfully completed a
firearms safety instructor course given by or under the supervision of any state, county, municipal, or federal law enforcement agency; or
Ø Is a certified police officer
firearms safety instructor.
The bill specifies the required curriculum, which
includes classroom work and live firing exercises.
Instructors must keep their course records available
for at least four years.
Instructors who provide false information about the
performance of an applicant in the training program
are guilty of a class C misdemeanor.
Other acceptable qualification or training
An applicant for a concealed carry endorsement shall demonstrate
knowledge of firearms safety training. This requirement shall be fully satisfied
if the applicant for a concealed carry endorsement:
Ø Submits a photocopy of a certificate that shows the applicant completed a firearms safety course given by or under the supervision of any state, county, municipal, or federal law enforcement agency; or
Ø Is a qualified firearms safety instructor as defined above