Concealed Carry Permit
The fee for the application is currently $100.00 and is payable at the time of application; payable by check to "County Sheriff's Revolving Fund" or exact change. The fee is non-refundable by law.
The application process may take up to 45 days to complete in accordance with the statute. The Sheriff will issue permits upon full completion of the statutory requirements for fingerprinting and background checks.
Applications will be accepted during the following times:
9:00 am to 4:45 pm, Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday (except legal holidays)
WE WILL NOT START A NEW APPLICATION AFTER 4:45 P.M.
9:00 am to 5:45 pm, Wednesday (except legal holidays)
WE WILL NOT START A NEW APPLICATION AFTER 5:45 P.M.
Applications will be accepted at the Sheriff’s Office Headquarters in Hillsboro only.
How do I renew my current Concealed Carry Permit?
Should you have any questions, please contact our Concealed Carry Division at (636)797-5519, or by e-mail, firstname.lastname@example.org
Concealed Carry Permits may be renewed prior to its expiration date. Individuals renewing their permits can do so only at the Jefferson County Sheriff's Headquarters Office located at 400 First Street, Hillsboro, Missouri.
Renewals will be accepted during the following times:
9:00 am to 4:45 pm., Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday (except legal holidays)
9:00 am to 5:45 pm, Wednesday (except legal holidays)
Statutory fee for renewal is $50.00; payable by check or exact change. This non-refundable fee is payable upon renewal.
Applicants for renewal must appear in person for renewal.
Applicants for renewal need to bring their current Concealed Carry ID, a valid government issued Photo ID, and their $50.00 payment.
Payments may be in cash (exact change only), check or money order (made out to "County Sheriff's Revolving Fund")
The Sheriff's representative will make every effort to renew your permit while you wait.
Your new expiration date will be five years from the date you renew your permit.
Renewals After Expiration Date
An individual who fails to file a renewal application on or before its expiration must pay an additional late fee of $10.00 per month for each month it is expired up to six months.
Any person who fails to renew his/her application within the six-month period must reapply for a new certificate of qualification (the complete process including fingerprints and training) for a concealed carry endorsement and pay the $100.00 statutory fee for a new application.
Qualifications for obtaining a concealed carry endorsement
To qualify for the certificate needed to acquire a concealed carry endorsement, individuals must:
Be at least 19 years of age, or at least eighteen years of age or older and a member of the U.S. Armed Forces or honorably discharged from the U. S. Armed Forces.
Be a citizen or permanent resident of the United States
Currently a resident of the state of Missouri; a member of the armed forces of the U.S. stationed in the state of Missouri; or a spouse of a member of the armed forces of the U.S. stationed in Missouri;
Not have been found guilty of a felony;
Not have been convicted of, pled guilty to, or entered a plea of nolo contendere to one or more misdemeanor offenses involving crimes of violence within a five year period immediately preceding application for a permit and have not been convicted of two or more misdemeanors offenses involving driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs or the possession or abuse of a controlled substance within a five year period immediately preceding application for a permit;
Not be a fugitive from justice;
Not be currently charged with a felony;
Not be dishonorably discharged from the armed forces;
Not have engaged in a pattern of behavior, documented in public records, that causes the sheriff to have a reasonable belief that the applicant presents a danger to himself, herself, or others;
Not have been adjudged mentally incompetent or released from a mental health facility for five years prior to the application;
Not be the respondent in a valid full order of protection currently in effect;
Clear a criminal background check by the state and the Federal Bureau of Investigation; and
Comply with training requirements established by the bill.
Applicants for a concealed carry endorsement must complete a firearms safety course provided by a qualified instructor.
A firearms safety instructor shall be considered to be a qualified firearms safety instructor by any sheriff issuing a certificate of qualification for a concealed carry endorsement pursuant to this section if the instructor:
- Is a valid firearms safety instructor certified by the National Rifle Association holding a rating as a personal protection instructor or pistol marksmanship instructor; or Submits a photocopy of a certificate from a firearms safety instructor's course offered by a local, state, or federal governmental agency; or
- Submits a photocopy of a certificate from a firearms safety instructor course approved by the department of public safety; or
- Has successfully completed a firearms safety instructor course given by or under the supervision of any state, county, municipal, or federal law enforcement agency; or
- Is a certified police officer firearms safety instructor.
The bill specifies the required curriculum, which includes classroom work and live firing exercises.
Instructors must keep their course records available for at least four years.
Instructors who provide false information about the performance of an applicant in the training program are guilty of a class C misdemeanor.
Other acceptable qualification or training
An applicant for a concealed carry endorsement shall demonstrate knowledge of firearms safety training. This requirement shall be fully satisfied if the applicant for a concealed carry endorsement:
- Submits a photocopy of a certificate that shows the applicant completed a firearms safety course given by or under the supervision of any state, county, municipal, or federal law enforcement agency; or
- Is a qualified firearms safety instructor as defined above.